{Wild}

“I knew that if I allowed fear to overtake me,

my journey was doomed.

Fear, to a great extent, is born of a story we tell ourselves,

and so I choose to tell myself a different story from the one women are told.

I decided

I was safe, I was strong, I was brave.”

I LOVED this book! Full of adventure, tragedy, mourning + renewal!

I must admit I was taken back by this book when I started reading it! I had read Into The Wild by Jon Krakauer a few years ago + enjoyed reading about a journey that a young man took hiking into the wilderness. I thought Wild was going to be just as great just from a woman’s perspective.

Wow, the first part of this chapter is emotional + deep. This book is about the loss of a mother + the journey back to self after such a great loss.

Cheryl recalls that “The amount that she loved us was beyond her reach. It could not be quantified or contained.

She was going to leave my life at the same moment that I came into hers.

This quote spoke to me + had me thinking about my very own mother. How different our lives had been growing up yet how much like her I see in myself.

At her lowest, years after her mother’s death she decided to take back to nature and hike the Pacific Crest Trail for over three months!

A world I thought would both make me into the woman I knew I could become and turn me back into the girl I’d once been.

Along the way she meet inspirational friends who she would spend time hiking with + sharing great stories even though she would always get back on the trail to conquer the journey with self, alone!

I lay in the water as long as I could without breathing,

alone in a strange new land,

while the actual world all around me hummed on.

 She describes her journey as “powerful and fundamental,”  a “cold clarity inside of a deep haze.

Admitting to feeling “fierce and humble and gathered up inside,”

to a point of feeling “safe in this world

+ how the trail would both “shatter and shelter” her.

Overall this book was about a powerful journey of overcoming life + being a WOMEN travelling ALONE!!!

 “Maybe I was alone more than anyone in the whole wide world.

Maybe that was okay.”

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “{Wild}

    1. Awesome! I loved the book and now I am excited to see the movie! I usually read the book first to get more information and back story for the movie! Have fun, the book is amazing! Thanks for the comment and for reading my review!

      Like

    1. You should! I never thought it would be either! I received a copy of the book free from someone at work and kept pushing it around until I finally had 2 days off work and picked it up and read on! So glad I ended up reading it! Good luck and thanks for checking out my review!

      Like

  1. She also killed her child because a baby was “inconvenient”, divorced her husband because she didn’t want to try and just gave up, and slept with anyone who was breathing while she was out hiking that trail, which almost got her abused (the times she hitchhiked in particular) and close to killed a couple of times. Wasn’t prepared in any way for the journey and was full of complaints the entire time. It is a really naïve story wrapped up in a self-finding or self-improvement and self-absorbed kind of images. The movie was incredibly difficult to watch and I almost walked out of the theatre a few times! I almost read the book but the reviews led me to think otherwise. It’s hard for me to read a book because of the “story” while ignoring the moral implications of the actions of the people in the book… kind of how I felt with watching parts of the Astronaut Wives Club and considering reading that book as well. It was just so confusing! I don’t see how those things- sure things she mentioned very lightly in her story but hold a lot of weight still- can be ignored.

    Like

    1. I understand that view point, some of the things that she did after her mother passed were not “right” choices. However that is not the focus of the story. We all do things in life that are not the “right choice” however we either realize our faults and work it out and change to live a better life and to be the best versions of self that we can be! This is her journey and it is a journey that we all take, all separate, all different and yet all the same…I still believe this book is amazing, the way she tackles life and commits and works through a difficult task that she was told she could not do, one that changed her whole life, one thing that let her mother rest in peace. Thanks for checking out my review and sharing your viewpoint! I appreciate it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

