{#ALLlivesmater}

I currently reside in the gorgeous and historical downtown Charleston, South Carolina!

20150524_091616

I have lived here about 3 years now with my wonderful spouse, we moved here from Pennsylvania!

This is us;

unnamed

Attempting a selfie on a hot + humid night drinking margarita’s on King Street!

So…..as you can tell, yes, we are an “interracial” couple by label.

Living Up North we have dealt with our fair share of racism + prejudice from a few people….however nothing like what we have come across in Charleston, sadly enough!

Today marks one week since the tragic shooting at the Emanuel AME Church.

coverstory-blitt-nine-872-1200-19155423

Over the past 3 years I have walked past this church almost EVERY SINGLE day, I work down the street, my bank is next door and the location is central to downtown Charleston.

To me this day marks the day when 9 innocent people became victim to a MANIAC!

YES, this church has a very important historical timeline, YES, it was done out of hatred and racism, YES YES YES, I understand! I am not taking any of these facts away!

However….#BlackLivesMatter and Hebrew Israelites and the KKK is ALL SEPARATION! Which to me is fighting AGAINST the one very CORE thing this world needs…

UNITY!

SO for ME….#ALLLIVESMATTER

The Charleston City paper published an article

No, a national #BlackLivesMatter leader did not say, ‘All Lives Matter’

“Man who took off BLM shirt at Ravenel Bridge event has been disavowed by local and national groups”

In the Article it talks about Jay Johnson, the executive director of a separate group called: Offical Black Lives Matter. He attended the UNITY CHAIN at the Arthur Ravenel Bridge where thousands of people gathered to show love and support for the church. Johnson received attention after he removed his #BlackLivesMatter shirt because it “has alienated particular groups.”

And I completely agree…..

Johnson also stated “After what I saw in Charleston, I want to say I’ve had an epiphany, what I saw yesterday was something that I had never seen. I really hadn’t. And it touched me and it touched a lot of different people. I talked it over with my leadership, and they’re like, ‘Listen, man, we’re elevating this thing. Let’s embrace it.'”

It just shows how bias that statement is, #Blacklivesmatter, that the people who coined that phrase want nothing to do with Johnson or his message. They have disavowed him and want it known that they do NOT agree.

To make matters worse…

Elias Lyles, a staff member of the activist organization Southerners On New Ground, says she also saw Johnson for the first time shortly after the Walter Scott shooting. “I’ve been organizing in Charleston for years and I’ve never seen this guy show up until now,” Lyles says. “And he is clearly not with national Black Lives Matter because no national or local Black Lives organizer would ever lead a march with a police chief or say that Black Lives Matter should be replaced by All Lives Matter.”

Asked to respond to the phrase “All Lives Matter” — a common refrain in internet forums and newspaper comment sections long before Johnson’s declaration Sunday night — d’Baha said, “It’s a continuation of white supremacy. When a black affirmation is too strong, it’s softened up to accommodate white ears.”

He added, “You really need to understand what an affirmation is. An affirmation is something that uplifts something; it’s not necessarily against something else. And that’s where there is some confusion: There’s an assumption that because black lives matter, they assume that all lives don’t matter. But that’s not exactly what’s being said … White supremacy operates because of black inferiority and white superiority. So when we are saying, ‘Black lives matter,’ we are uplifting the black inferiority piece and saying black lives matter. It doesn’t take away from anybody else’s lives matter, but it’s an affirmation that actually goes against white supremacy.”

I can understand they are trying to raise awareness for how black people have been treated however the statement to me is seclusive, selective and not uplifting! He speaks as if we live in a world where everything is either BLACK or WHITE! When it comes to gathering in love, not one single person needs to be secluded, that would contradict the very meaning!

There is only one race: human race. Caucasians, Africans, Asians, Indians, Arabs, and Jews are not different races. Rather, they are different ethnicity’s of the human race.

The definition follows as:

eth·nic·i·ty

plural noun: ethnicities
  1. the fact or state of belonging to a social group that has a common national or cultural tradition.
I found a great article that talks about race from God’s perspective;
“God does not show partiality or favoritism (Deuteronomy 10:17; Acts 10:34; Romans 2:11; Ephesians 6:9), and neither should we. James 2:4 describes those who discriminate as “judges with evil thoughts.” Instead, we are to love our neighbors as ourselves (James 2:8). In the Old Testament, God divided humanity into two “racial” groups: Jews and Gentiles. God’s intent was for the Jews to be a kingdom of priests, ministering to the Gentile nations. Instead, for the most part, the Jews became proud of their status and despised the Gentiles. Jesus Christ put an end to this, destroying the dividing wall of hostility (Ephesians 2:14). All forms of racism, prejudice, and discrimination are affronts to the work of Christ on the cross.

 11228917_10152981196084077_1584480830850028932_n

I took a break from my blog and on June 20th I first spoke out about this incident on facebook:

“My heart is broken right now, all this turmoil, hate and separation in Charleston. I am exhausted from all opposition that is why I choose LOVE! We all matter and it is unjust and unfair for some more than others and there is hate stemming from all ends of the spectrum! I have never lived somewhere such as Charleston where there is SO MUCH RACIAL TENSION! We need to move on from the past, yes I said it, Lets understand the events of the past and leave it as a memory so we can all forgive and unite to create a world where we are all treated with importance and respect! I know the world is an imperfect place however if we all just try to realize we are all connected and created equal than we can all move forward! I look at tragedy through God’s eyes and see his grace and presence! I ask for prayer for humanity and for love! Please excuse me for a few days as I step away from the blog and find peace in solace with God and to see Charleston reunited after such a horrible experience!”

I will continue to support life, unity and love regardless of opposition!

1795633_1171141812912177_5092226924128355465_n

I LOVE Charleston and will stay….

11113572_10101981370444965_680600117930227286_n

Please continue to pray;

10430918_10152918187800222_5918907947581213791_n

Your love, support + prayers are still needed as we begin to heal from the loss and turn over a new leaf called

UNITY!

Article in City Paper: No, a national #BlackLivesMatter leader did not say, ‘All Lives Matter’ can be read @ http://www.charlestoncitypaper.com/TheBattery/archives/2015/06/22/no-a-national-blacklivesmatter-leader-did-not-say-all-lives-matter + @ https://www.facebook.com/amanda.gehman.338/posts/10153344173506223

16 thoughts on “{#ALLlivesmater}

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting! I do not imagine it is a topic that many want to read or even comment so I really appreciate you taking the time! Thanks again! ~Amanda Marie~

      Like

    1. Thanks for taking the time to comment and to read, I know it is not an easy topic! I just want to share my thoughts to help get through it! I believe in unity and I want to help anyway I can! Thanks again!
      ~Amanda Marie~

      Like

  1. I remember when I read that this happened and I thought, “great, another delusional white supremacist trying to give other white people a bad name.” And then I thought about his intentions which I summed up to him trying to start a race war, but then when I saw everyone in that community come together, blacks and whites, I thought, ” We as a society are much stronger than what this idiot did, and this will only serve to bring us closer together.”

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for actually reading my post and commenting from the heart! It is a shame how one person’s actions will cause people to see it as an “all” thing! I feel that unity is the only way America can get through this and to work towards a better tomorrow for ALL not just one race or the other, not to dismiss that yes black people are treated badly! However if we continue to focus on segregation than there can not be unity in that! I was inspired even by a black gentleman who ripped of the “blacklivesmatter” shirt! It shows that there is some segregation in that statement! We need to all rise up together and there is SO MUCH LOVE in Charleston, it is truly inspiring! Thanks again, it means a lot to me!
      ~Amanda Marie~

      Like

    1. Thank you so much for reading and commenting! It is helpful to talk about the situation! A part of me was just thinking I should take the post down after a few negative comments however I don’t want to be silent about any issues anymore! Thanks again for reading!
      ~Amanda Marie~

      Like

  2. Thank you for writing this piece. You actually got the intended message. I find it amazing how fast activists claiming they want equality and unity distanced themselves from what should’ve been an evolving moment in the movement. I still believe Unity is the only way. I am forever changed by Charleston. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for reading and understanding that I believe in unity! I have had some comments that were not so nice and suggested that I was being the opposite of what I was actually writing about! There are hardships for most of us, some more than others yes! However we have to stop pointing our fingers and claiming that someones suffering is worse and just unite together for the sake of LOVE! If we treat each other with respect and love than we can all come together and live! Let go of the past, move forward and stop tripping over negative things! Thanks so much for reading my most important post and caring enough to comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

